SEPT. 1, 2018


Hibla ng Lahing Filipino Traveling Art Exhibition at UHM

Art and culture lovers can attend the “Hibla ng Lahing Filipino Travelling Exhibition, Lecture Series, Weaving and Embroidery Demonstrations and Workshops” in Honolulu from September 17 to November 17, 2018 at the University of Hawaii at Manoa.

The Exhibition schedule are weekdays: 8:00 am – 10:00 pm, Saturdays: 9:00 am – 5:00 pm, and Sundays: 12:00pm – 10:00 pm.

Dates and times for the Lecture Series, Weaving Demonstrations and Embroidery Workshops:

  • LECTURE SERIES: September 18 to 21, 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m., Room 301
  • WEAVING DEMONSTRATIONS: September 18 to 21, 2:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., Bridge Gallery
  • EMBROIDERY WORKSHOPS: September 18 to 21 September, 2:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m., Room 301

The exhibition, lecture and workshop series is presented by the Philippine Consulate General in Honolulu and co-sponsored by the National Museum of the Philippines, the Office of Senator Loren Legarda, and the University of Hawaii at Manoa.

For more information and to sign-up for the lectures and workshops, please send an email at pcghonolulu.culturalsection@gm ail.com or call Mina Bautista at (808) 595 6316 to 19 ext. 112.


FilCom Center to Hold Annual Bayanihan Gala Dinner

To commemorate Filipino American History Month in October, the FilCom Center will hold its 16th Annual Bayanihan Gala Dinner on Saturday, October 13, 2018 at the FilCom Center, starting at 5:30 p.m. (cocktails) and program to begin at 6:30 p.m.

This year’s Gala theme is “Celebrating the Joy of Service” and four individuals will be honored for their contributions to the Filipino community: Himig at Indak, Don Anderson, Cecilia Villafuerte, and Nic Musico.

Sponsorships for the event are available. For more information, contact the FilCom Center at 808-680-0451. Event chairs are Roland Casamina and Eddie Flores, Jr.


Free Webinar on Fraud Prevention Tips for Seniors

The Waipahu Community Office of the Matanuska Valley Federal Credit Union (MVFCU) will host a free webinar, “Fraud Prevention Tips for Seniors” on Wednesday, September 19, at 11 am - 12 noon. MVFCU’s Member Education Officer Kathy Morris will host the live interactive webinar and present the top 10 scams that target seniors and how they may protect their identify from fraud and theft.

For more information and to register, visit mvfcu.coop/learning or the credit union’s Facebook page at facebook.com/mvfcu.hawaii. All who register will receive a link to the webinar to watch at their convenience.



Loida Alimboyoguen Yamamoto Ti Baro a Presidente Ti Ilocos Surian Association of Hawaii [ISAH]

Ni Loida Alimboyoguen Yamamoto ti nagkaykaysaan Ilocos Surian Association of Hawaii [ISAH] a baro a presidente para iti 2018-2020 babaen iti napalabas nga eleksion idi Hunio 5, 2018 iti Susannah Wesley Community Center.

Ni Yamamoto ti umuna a babai a mangidaulo ti ISAH kalpasan dagiti immuna a nagpresidente sipud pay nabangon idi Pebrero 27, 1977, kas kada: Atty Peter Aduja [Vigan]; John Quiocho [Caoayan-Narvacan]; Mario Albalos [Vigan]; Dr. Sid Villafuerte [Sto Domingo]; Peping Billena [Caoayan-Santa]; Rey Custodio [Candon]; Ben Cabreros [Narvacan], Julio Quiocho, Jr. [Caoayan]; Danny Villaruz [Santa] kapautan a president 2001-2018.

Agdama a bise presidente ti Vigan Assn of Hawaii & Associates ni Yamamoto; nag-OFCC ken secretary; nag-runner-up iti Mrs. ISAH 2008, ken aktibo iti komunidad. Tubo iti Vigan City, maikatlo a tubo ti Vigan a mangidaulo iti ISAH.

Dagiti dadduma a nabotosan iti nasao nga eleksion nga inturong ni Amado Yoro, ken kakaduana, isu da : Ben Cabreros, [Narvacan], umuna a bise; Davelyn Quijano [Sinait], maikadua a bise.

  • Recording Secretary: Josefina Degamo Takamoto, Corresponding Secretary: Nena Empleo
  • Treasurer Lina Mercado Asst. Treasurer: Tessie Teresita Fallet Aganon
  • Auditor: Alice Alice Castaneda Assistant Auditor: Myrna Peralta
  • PRO: Heidie Agbulos, Emelyn Damo
  • Sergeant-at-Arms: Art Abinsay, Jaime Dalit, Roman Saupan, Tom Quintos, Jun Abalos

Ni Rep. Romy Cachola ti namagsapata kadakuada apaman a naammuan ti resulta ti eleksion.

DAGITI MANGBUKEL TI HUNTA DIREKTIBA a pakairamanan dagiti president ti unit member organizations: Danny Villaruz, the Immediate past president/Adviser

  1. Gus Concepcion, Annak Ti Sinait Iti Hawaii
  2. Myrna Peralta, Cabugao Sons & Daughters Assn of Hawaii
  3. Alice Castaneda, San Juan Lapog Assn of Hawaii
  4. Tessie Aganon, Vigan Assn of Hawaii & Associates
  5. Jenny Quezon, Annac Ti Caoayan 2002
  6. Antonio Nartatez, Jr, Santanians Assn of Hawaii-USA
  7. Louie Funtanilla, Narvacan Assn of Hawaii
  8. Lety Dalit, Santa Marians of Hawaii
  9. Thomas Quintos, Santiaguenians Assn of Hawaii
  10. 1Romulo Basuel, Sinait National High School Alumni Assn of Hawaii
  11. Imelda Ulangca Formoso, Magsingal Assn of Hawaii – unable to attend
  12. Helen Grace Go, Candonians of Hawaii—unable to attend

Advisers: Felipe P. Abinsay, Jr., Rep. Romy Cachola, Maria Etrata; Louie Funtanilla, Rose Mendoza, Al Sabangan; Dr. Charlie Y. Sonido, Carlito Soria; Amado Yoro.

MEMBERS OF THE ELECTION COMMITTEE Amado Yoro, Chairman Al Sabangan, Co-Chair Ben Cabreros, Co-Chair Art Abinsay, Co-Chair Rose Sabangan, Co-Chair Emmie Villaruz, Member Alice Castaneda, Member Lina Mercado, Member.

MAANGAY TI RE-AFFIRMATION ken panagsapata dagitoy nga opisiales intono Nobiembre 23, 2018 idiay Ala Moana Hotel.


Back to top↑



Home | Advertise | Subscribe | About Us | Contact Us

© 2008-2018 Hawaii Filipino Chronicle Inc.