Honolulu City Council Members Sworn In

Radiant Cordero and Augie Tulba

On Jan. 2, 2021, Andria Tupola (Council District 1), Esther Kiaʻāina (District 3), Calvin Say (District 5), Radiant Cordero (District 7), and Augie Tulba (District 9) were sworn into office as the new class of city councilmembers to the Honolulu City Council. Joining them in the inauguration ceremony were four returning members Brandon Elefante, Carol Fukunaga, Heidi Tsuneyoshi and Tommy Waters.

Fil-Ams Cordero and Tulba won races against fellow Filipinos Jacob Aki and former state senator Will Espero.

Cordero is the former chief of staff of the term-limited City Councilman Joey Manahan who she replaces. Tulba is a well-known Hawaii entertainer entering politics for the first time. He replaces the term-limited former City Councilman Ron Menor.

Cordero’s District 7 includes Kalihi, lwilei, Kalihi Kai, Mapunapuna, Salt Lake, Aliamanu, Hickam, Foster Village. Tulba’s District 9 includes Waikele, Village Park, Royal Kunia, Mililani Town, West Loch, Iroquois Point, and portions of Ewa.

“This is a momentous occasion to swear in five new Councilmembers, especially after the challenging year we all endured due to the COVID-19 pandemic, said Council Chair Ann Kobayashi. “The City Council looks forward to welcoming the diverse, newly-elected Councilmembers and the four continuing Councilmembers. I am confident that each of them will serve their constituents with professionalism, wisdom and compassion.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.